2015 Nominations Closed



It’s time!  The 2015 Call for Nominations are open!  And the good news? You asked us to extend the nomination deadline? And we have. Nominations are NOW open UNTIL March 31st!  Who will you nominate?  The nomination process is easy.  Just follow the directions below:

A KIRA award is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continued growth of entrepreneurial talent and innovative energy throughout our province.

KIRA recognizes and celebrates innovative in and across all sectors – private, public and academic.    We continue to be amazed and impressed at the imagination, passion and commitment of our nominees, our finalists and the KIRA recipients.   And each year KIRA’s gala evening continues to be a great way to honor that passion, imagination and commitment to our province.

With innovation comes change and the 2015 KIRA Awards reflect this change.  The categories for 2015 have been reviewed and updated to better reflect what we collectively want to celebrate, that is our entrepreneurial talent, our innovative ideas and a commitment to implementing these ideas, across and in every sector.

IMPORTANT Dates:  Nominations must be received by midnight of March 31, 2015.Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 10.45.46 AM

Click on the following links to nominate a person/business in one of the following categories – be sure to complete all sections of the nomination form.

1. Innovative New Product or Service (Private Sector) click here

This award recognizes a successful launch of an innovative product or service by a private sector company over the past 12 months. Products or services could still be at the development stage however there must be some measure of success either identified or established. Companies investing in research and development of new technologies and innovations are also eligible in this category. Knowledge based innovations impacting any industry are eligible to be nominated.

2.  Most Promising Start-Up – click here

From a great idea to thinking outside the box, in technical or managerial terms, this award recognizes a company in business less than two years with something fresh to say in the marketplace or a new approach to addressing an old problem.   Knowledge based innovations impacting any industry positively are eligible to be nominated.

3. Innovation in the Public Sector – click here

This award recognizes the adoption of an innovative new solution or approach for the delivery of a new or existing service over the past 12 months.  Public institutions including government departments, municipalities, universities and community colleges are eligible to apply.  The innovation may also have been achieved through a partnership between the public and private or academic sectors.

4. Industry Champion – click here

This award recognizes the efforts of an individual, company or group toward changing the landscape of the knowledge industry in our province by raising awareness of the industry. This awareness could be in the form of promoting the industry itself or its positive impact on communities and the province overall.   Positive impacts could be in the form of direct community engagement, promoting the knowledge industry as a community partner or supporting community development.

5. Economic Impact – The oNBoard Award click here

This award recognizes a company or organization that has demonstrated employment growth through strategic and sustainable planning over time. In this specific case, the time period in question is the preceding two years.